Watching her swim

When we walked into the pool we were seated in the same section as all the other Water Waddlers, it was the first day of swim lessons for Jillian. They called up the kids and paired them with their life guard for lessons and all of a sudden I was alone. Not like alone because my kid was gone….alone because all of the parents moved to the side of the pool where their kids were. It took me a little while to notice this and then I just thought about it.

I’m not that mom who is going to follow my kid every where. If I feel they are safe and in good hands then I’m going to let them venture off on their own. I’m going to let them explore and learn at their own pace.

There Jilly was laughing and talking to her life guard like they were best friends. Learning from her and in her own little world. She wasn’t even looking around for me she was her own independent self, taking on the world as she was comfortable.

So no I didn’t move to within 3 feet of my daughter while she had her first swim lesson, but when I watched her from afar I noticed that she was the only one in the deepest end of the pool. She was the only one who was in a lane swimming the length of the pool twice.

So proud of her!
So proud of her!



Instagram

One thought on “Watching her swim

Please share your opinion

