Do you have a cephalopod?

So in class we were studying branches of science and my students were looking up colleges and careers for sciences they loved. One student was searching Marine Biology and asked me what a Cephalopod was. We all kept talking about it because I told the kids it made me feel smart to use big words, so we used big words the rest of the day in class.

After I explained to her that it was an octopus we googled it for pictures.

This one was my favorite.

The caption on this picture was “National Wash your Cephalopod Day” So naturally I wanted to put it in my calendar! It became a running joke in my classroom that even went down the hallway and of course ended up at my dinner table.

When I was recounting my day to the family I could barely keep from laughing, and then Veronica says “Why do you need to wash them? They life in the ocean”

As I type that I realize it’s one of those “have to be there moments” but do you realize the learning that took place in all that playing around? My students learned a new word and what it meant. My kids made the connections that they live in the ocean and wouldn’t need washing.

Then the hubster went on the wonderful website called imgur and found a video of a very smart cephalopod.

I took it back to school and now we all want one! This is so amazing! To think it all started with a student asking me what a word meant.

Lesson here is don’t be afraid to ask questions!

OK that post elvoved a lot while I was writing it….it started out as things that happen at our dinner table and ended up being a lesson a cephalopods. 🙂 That’s just the way it works some times.



Instagram

Please share your opinion

