Dear Summer 2013,

Wow! You were so not what I planned but turned out to be exactly what I needed!! It’s as sit here thinking to myself that I need to make sure to go to bed early so I can get up early in the morning I’m thinking what an awesome and inspiring summer it has been.

First there was the whole ISTE conference in San Antonio, where I made friends and grew my career.

We also found a church home that has been amazing for my family. Even just yesterday Veronica stated out the of blue that finding our new church has been the best thing for our family. She told me that she has learned so much more about Jesus then she did at our old church and even Danielle is learning. It’s nice to see that the children notice those things. We have dived in head first with this and have become a part of the family already!

working the sound board during Praise Band practice
working the sound board during Praise Band practice

You brought us another family vacation. There were lots of priceless memories made there and every time we take a long drive Danielle asks if we are in Arkansas yet. 🙂 I know in a few years we will go back to our little spot in the mountains.

IMG_4186

You made my question my abilities as a parent and how I was raising my kids. I went with my gut and did what I thought was right, well today on the last day of summer I got my conformation. There was no yelling, or fighting. Today Veronica hugged Danielle and said “I love you”! I was sitting right there and I didn’t say a word. I just watched and listened, knowing that without the struggles and help this summer I never would have heard those words. I’m so proud of my daughter and how far she has come.

IMG_4355

Summer- you gave me a big girl in big girl panties!!! I’m not sure I was ready for this one!

don't worry there is still a pull up under there for sleeping :)
don’t worry there is still a pull up under there for sleeping 🙂

You brought many laughs and good memories. Summer, you were short but life was happening so fast around me that I never really had to stop and worry. Thank you for a great vacation! Tomorrow I will start my 6th year of teaching 5th Grade science, I’ll have all new teaching partners and a brand new (sorta) school. I’m excited this year! Oh and Summer 2014- I hope have been paying attention because you have a lot to live up to!!!

Good Bye Summer! Thanks for the memories!
Good Bye Summer! Thanks for the memories!

One thought on “Dear Summer 2013,

Please share your opinion

