I needed to hear this today.

Thank you Britt Reints

I do this ALL. THE. TIME. I know it’s wrong, and I know I can’t control other people but I just can’t seem to stop myself. I even stressed out about it while on vacation. I wanted everyone to have a good time, so I forgot to make sure I was having a good time. Sometimes I just need to hear things from someone who isn’t family. Someone who I don’t think is saying things just because “it’s their job”.

Her blog goes on to say:

You have to trust that they can figure out happiness on their own.

Maybe you believe that they have what they need, but you worry because they don’t seem to be using what they’ve been given.

Most of us go through that, too.

Remember? Remember when you were wandering around in the dark, and how you somehow stumbled on the light switch, seemingly by total accident and chance? Maybe you know now that it wasn’t chance, that you were always meant to find the light. They are meant to find the switch, too. In time. And it will probably seem like an accident when it happens, but you’ll both know better.

And when they do figure it out, they will have earned all of the pride and gratitude they feel. They will be confident in their happiness, because they found it in their own time and in their own way.

So that’s it. We are all in a room of different lighted state. I’m searching for my light switch as are you and we will each find it in the perfect time for us. Just please know that while you are searching for your, I’m not going to defend my choices any more. I’m not going to let you judge me while I’m dancing in the light and you are sitting in the dark. I am who and what I am and I can only be the best me I can be.

P.S. No I haven’t forgotten that you guys still need to see LOTS of pictures from vacation, but I’m waiting to upgrade my space before I do that. I promise you will get the vacation post you want. 🙂

2 thoughts on “I needed to hear this today.

Please share your opinion

