Photo A Day 23: Cooking

Last week I had the great idea to make granola bars. Ok I could so do this EVERY weekend!!

First I went to my Internet Friend that doesn’t Know I Exist, the Pioneer Woman to look and see if she had a recipe for granola bars, of course she does!

So I made them! Now here is my $0.02 worth of thoughts.

1. I didn’t follow the recipe 100%, when I was at wal-mart I was thinking this looks granola-ie and bought it. So I had a different set of nuts and dried berries (cranberries to be exact)

2. From now on I will only ever make them in muffin pans or leave the house while I’m waiting for them to cool. I was too impatient and they crumbled a lot (except the ones in the muffin pans) but have no fear I found something to do with those crumbles. I had to finally put them in the freezer to harden and keep tiny fingers out of them.

3. Totally awesome and can be made a little healthier, might have to make these EVERY weekend!

Totally yummy and cute!  Everyone in the house loved them.
Totally yummy and cute! Everyone in the house loved them.

Those crumbles I told you about?? I found something very yummy to do with them. Vanilla ice cream, sugar free carmel syrup, warm granola crumbles…..ummmmm totally AMAZING!!! Change that ice cream to healthier ice cream and it might even become a healthy dessert.

Hubster and I made a deal, if I make granola often he'll keep us stocked with vanilla ice cream.
Hubster and I made a deal, if I make granola often he’ll keep us stocked with vanilla ice cream.

Please share your opinion

