My hubster? An Aggie?

So I was sitting at lunch today with my hubby talking about dreams and the future. I made a comment that I sometimes wish he had a degree so we could switch roles and I could go into administration and he could go into the classroom. This would give him wonderful summers with the girls. You see college is an interesting subject for us. I went, had a blast! I got my drinking tolerance way up, my stress level way up, and my GPA way down. Even though my mom will disagree with me it was a great experience for me. I was never really bad in high school, I always wanted to do the right thing so my first time at college was my time to be a rebel. It wasn’t until I was married with a kid that I realized how important it was and that I needed it. So with the backing of my family I went back and walked across that stage 2 months after having my second child.

Hubster’s story is a little different. He went to a community college for one semester and only went to Jazz band (not that I blame him for this). So he doesn’t have a degree. However in the crazy world of education he ended up making more money then me!

So back to our lunch conversation- He told me that he had been accepted in Texas A&M when he graduated high school. I was shocked! The first thing out of my mouth was “You mean you could be wearing wranglers, cowboy boots and a cowboy hat?” His look was priceless. So when I asked why you didn’t learn to say “Howdy”, the hubster told me it was because he wasn’t allowed to go. His parents knew he would fail so they didn’t want to waste that much money on him and college. Instead he was allowed to live at home and go to the community college.

As we continued to talk he said that he felt by this decision he was set up for failure because the community college didn’t offer the challenge my smart, arrogant, ass of a husband needed. He felt smarter than all his teachers so he didn’t even try. I of course have always said that if he went to Sam Houston where I was in college at the time we could have met up and started our relationship there.

So this brought us to the topic of “how we got where we are”. I say if we were meant to be we would have met up some how….he says if things hadn’t happened in the order they did at the exact right time then we would both be off married to different people raising different kids. The romantic in me disagrees with him. 🙂

So we went back to our college topic and thought about it with our girls. We both agree with our smart little Veronica we won’t have to put a dime into her college education because girl will get scholarships. However with Danielle (who is some much like her daddy) he says he doesn’t know if he’ll be willing to put money into her college. However I don’t want to let her down…or not challenge her. I want her to have all the opportunities that everyone has.

I know as parents there are tough decisions that have to be made every day. We can only hope that looking back at them we make the right ones. I don’t blame his parents for not letting him go to A&M, knowing my hubster I can understand why they made that decision. I do wish he would have worked harder at the community college and gone on to get a degree…but where would that have put us? We wouldn’t have met in 2001 and married in 2002. Would have met at all? I like to hope so…but truth be told it was the dark things going on in our lives that brought us together. It was the pain and hurt that made both of us search for the light. We were lucky enough to find each other, and be happily in love with the last 10 years.

I’m not really sure where this post was supposed to go, or where it actually went. I just wanted to share it with you guys.

It all kind of makes me think of this song by Rascal Flatts:

Every long lost dream led me to where you are
Others who broke my heart they were like Northern stars
Pointing me on my way into your loving arms
This much I know is true
That God blessed the broken road
That led me straight to you

And of course I always agree with Garth Books and thank God for Unanswered Prayers.

One thought on “My hubster? An Aggie?

  1. All too often we forget that failure led us to where we are. My refusal to attend classes taught by inferior minds was arrogant, and down right stupid… however, it caused me to fall from a dark place to an even darker one.

    Had my parents let me reach for my potential.. i may well would be teaching music in some school 500 miles from here… or i could be living in my parents house writing books… but never in a million years would I have met my love.

    I resented my parents for what they did. To some degree I still do. God, however, works in weird ways. My sister, who should have gone on to be so much more.. a doctor… turned out to be a teacher right back where she started, and married to the perfect man for her. Again… had things not gone exactly the way they did… she would have been off on a different path.. one that didn’t lead to the future she holds dear.

    Brunik

Please share your opinion

