As time goes by

We all know how long it takes the Earth to rotate on it’s axis. Who hasn’t ever thought that there needs to be more than 24 hours in a day? We all know it takes 365 1/4 days for the Earth to travel around the sun. That’s why we have leap year and such. All of those I can explain. I have to explain those as a science teacher. Every year I tell students about the magic of the Earth’s journey and how it’s the same and how it changes our lives, but what I can’t explain is how things seem to speed up that time.

There are things that make those 24 hours go by with the speed of light and things that make them crawl. Ask anyone who has been waiting to hear from a loved one that was off at war, those hours move slower than frozen molasses. I remember an outing with my high school friends the weekend before I went off to college, those were some very fast 24 hours. Then there are the years. When you are waiting to turn 16 and finally feel some independence, or 21 and finally feel like an adult the Earth seems to take it’s sweet time going around the sun. When you are planning for a big event like a wedding and you need time to make everything perfect, you would swear the year is speeding up.

Nothing speeds up time like becoming a parent. Holding Jillian today I was thinking how it wasn’t long ago I was pregnant and emotional. Now here she is just a few days from turning 2 months old!! I hold her and call her Danielle, then my little Danielle bounces into the room and I’m quickly brought back to reality. Danielle is not a baby, she’s a 3 year old who is just a year and 1/2 from starting school! I look at Veronica and I can’t even imagine her as a baby anymore. Sure I remember having her and holding her. I remember the days before she could talk and I remember her first steps. Those moments seem like eons ago.

The other day my students asked me what I was doing 10 years ago at this time. That’s about the time they were born. I realized that it was 10 years ago when I met my husband, ten short years ago. In ten years I have gotten married, graduated college, and become a mother 3 times.

Sometimes I still feel like I’m back in highschool sitting on my bed surrounded with stuffed animals and Disney posters on my wall. I remember when you could sit in a movie theater and no one would update their facebook because it didn’t exist. I remember when you had to use a payphone for emergencies because no one had cell phones.

It’s just amazing to me how something that never changes can be changed by all the things going on in your life. As we are getting ready to celebrate Thanksgiving with our family, I find myself looking around wondering where the summer went and hoping next summer gets here quickly so I can do all the awesome things I have planned.

Please share your opinion

