February 26, 2008

The day I turned 29 for the first time! 🙂 It’s also the day I gave birth to my crazy little monkey Danielle. I had gone to my doctor’s appointment on the 21st of February and she said “I’m going to call the hospital and the next available day is yours.” It just so happened that the next day they had an opening would be my birthday. I will admit that I was upset about that. I don’t like to share things, and especially not “my day”.

Well the evening before started out pretty calm. I went to dinner with the family and then they all went with me to the hospital to “tuck me in”. The night was rough, between the hospital bed and the poking and proding there wasn’t much sleep happening. This time however I had learned my lesson and I got my epidural before they broke my water. I’m telling you guys I don’t deal with pain very well.

So as soon as they break my water, they give me some pain meds and the husbster sneaks out to get himself some lunch thinking I’ll be asleep for awhile. Little did he know that halfway into ordering his food he would get a call from the hospital to get back to the room as quickly as possible. They had to give me oxygen because the baby wasn’t getting enough oxygen. I will never forget the scared look on my husband’s face when he walked back into that hospital room and saw me in bed with the oxygen mask on my face.

I started pushing and it wasn’t working very well. Then when the doctor came in, I had a coughing fit. She said “That’s working…keep coughing”. So 3 more coughs and I coughed out my little baby. She was born at 11:38 and was wisked away to the nursery right away. I was so full of meds that I wasn’t allowed to see her until 5:30 that evening. We had a small problem with jaundice, but it wasn’t as bad as with Veronica. Danielle had to stay under the billi blanket, but was never put in the NICU. She was allowed to go home at the same time as me and has been keeping our lives full of laughter and fun every since.

My little Danielle

Please share your opinion

