Food…Glorious Food!!

Lately I have been pretty board with food. It’s been spaghetti, tacos, meatloaf…..just a few staples on a rotation. I try and spicy it up with changing the order or one week leaving something out, but I’m still board with it. I have been working on making weekly menus the hard part is sticking to it. Sometimes we just aren’t in the mood for what we are supposed to have for dinner that night.

So with the help from Pinterest and a few other cooking blogs that I have grown to love, I’m going to share with you guys what we had for dinner the last few nights.

First from the Tastykitchen blog I give you: Tilapia Puttanesca

It was super yummy and VERY easy to make. I was even able to find all the ingredients at our local HEB, though it was kinda rough paying 6.00 for a jar of olives when you only needed 12 of them!! 🙂

Yesterday while I was out in the big city visiting my doctor the hubster made Slow Cooker Chicken Tacos.

This too was really really yummy. I must warn you guys of a couple of things 1) if you have issue with heartburn be prepared and 2) these are really juicy so when I put it on a salad my crunchy taco salad wasn’t as crunchy as I wanted it to be. But flavor wise these tacos are awesome!!

I made this recipe a while back for the in-laws. Some liked it, some didn’t. It was too spicy for me (might just be a pregnancy thing), but it is one I will be keeping around. Jalapeno Popper Dip

Still on our list of things to try from the blog: For The Love of Cooking


Italian Sausage and Mushroom Stuffed Manicotti
. I have all the stuff I need to make it and I can’t wait to eat it!! I told hubster it was my dinner for Sunday!!

I have a few others but I don’t want you to have to clean up any more drool off of your computer. I’ll post them as we try them and let you know if you should try them also.

One thought on “Food…Glorious Food!!

  1. If you’re up for experimentation, here’s a REALLY yummy recipe that Wylie and I have been developing.

    Beef Tips and Rice:
    1 pound of cubed beef (I use stew meat)
    2 cans cream of mushroom soup (I prefer the low sodium, due to the high salt content of the lipton)
    Milk
    1/2 cup sour cream
    1 packet of Lipton Onion Soup
    1 can of mushrooms (however you like them, sliced, chunked, whatever)
    Worcestershire sauce
    Steak Seasoning

    I’ve done this three ways now: Ultra slow cook, slow cook, and quick-cook. All three ways are yummy, but the slow cook seemed to work the best. Ultra slow cook wasn’t bad, but is for those days when you toss it together the night before and then cook it while at school. With quick cook, the meat is a little tough, but the flavor is nearly the same.

    Ultra Slow Cook:
    Mix all ingredients (using the mushroom soup cans to measure the milk – 2 cans) and cook on low for 8+ hours.

    Slow Cook:
    Brown meat with steak seasoning and Worcestershire sauce. Add mushrooms and cook for a few more minutes. Mix all ingredients into an oven-safe dish (1 can of milk) and bake uncovered on 350 for 4 hours.

    Quick Cook:
    Brown the meat with seasonings, add mushrooms and cook for a few more minutes, add the other ingredients (1 can of milk) and barely bring to a boil. Reduce heat, cover, and simmer for 30 minutes.

    Wylie and I have eaten it over minute rice or over bread. It’s yummy.

Please share your opinion

