A look into a Mom’s Mind.

Hubster and I have been blessed with awesome, well behaved children and loving family that like to take our children on adventures and to spend the night with them often. You always hear about the fun that was had by all, but you never truly get a look at what was going on in the mother’s mind. So I’m going to give that to you guys right now.

On Thursday my girls got to go to the big city with their Aunt and Uncle for a fun filled night at the circus and then the zoo the next day.

We will start this adventure at noon on Thursday:

Internet chat message: See you around 1:00

Mom: 1 hour and counting till freedom. I can last that long. I think I can! I think I can!

Text: Delayed due to errands, 1:30-1:45

Mom: I hope I can keep holding the grumpies off. The natives are getting restless.

at 1:30 the kids go out on the front porch to wait with excitement

Mom: Would it be wrong to just throw their suitcase outside and lock the door? They will be here soon to get them. The kids will be fine.

1:50 THEY ARE HERE!! The kids run off the porch with excitement. We get all their stuff packed in the car and the kids buckled in.


Mom: I am going to go back into the house quick and lock the door before they change their minds.

FREEEEEEEEDOM!!!

At this point I have a couple of hours to myself without the hubster. That means a homemade ice cream sundae and crap t.v. Sadly I have watched all of season 3 of True Blood so I was watching Teen Mom. As I go to lay down hubster walks in and joins me for a nap. It was an awesome nap with no worries about what time to wake up. We had a yummy fajita dinner and then settled in to watch a few episodes of Castle (one of hubsters favorite shows)

Text message 10:48: at hotel and bathed

Mom: those girls who go to bed at seven usually are going to be tired tomorrow, I hope they don’t wake up at their usual 6:30

Friday Morning:

There is no worries about waking up on time so I sleep until 8:00 a.m.

Mom: I wonder how Aunt and Uncle took to being woken up so early. I hope the girls weren’t grumpy.

9:00 Text message: It’s a picture of the girls having a good time with breakfast.

Mom: at least they are in a good mood

Sent Text: I hope they didn’t wake up too early for you guys.
Response: Nope we actually had to wake them up so they wouldn’t miss breakfast.

Mom: WTF my kids NEVER sleep late. That’s not fair! Why don’t they sleep late for me? If I kept them up until 11:00 they would be up at 6:00 and grumpy ALL. DAY. LONG.

The Hubster and I have a good relaxing day doing a whole lot of nothing. We swim in the pool, we watch some t.v. we have some computer time. When we get out of the pool to start making lunch I cautiously look at my phone to find out about the arrival of my children.

12:52 Text Message: Not going to be able to stay for too much longer, the heat is making everyone grumpy (not exactly what she said I shortened it).

Mom: ok so I have about 2 1/2 hours left of freedom. What is the best possible way to spend that time? Do I watch t.v.? Do I nap? Hubster and I could always well you know…but I don’t have the energy for that. Oh I don’t want to waste this time. I don’t know when I’ll get it again. Though now I’m wasting it stressing about not wasting it.

2:07 Text message: In the car, headed home.

Mom: OMG I’ve got 2 hours…what can I enjoy for 2 hours that I couldn’t enjoy with the kids home. Again there’s that…but still no energy for it.

3:00 Mom: about 1 hour and counting. I hope I haven’t wasted this time, but it’s been nice to sit here with hubby and watch t.v. Getting tired now. I’ll just take a quick nap and wake up when the girls get here. I hope I won’t regret taking a nap. I know there are other things that I could/should be doing, but a nap is what I want and what I think will make me happier at the end of the day.

Mom: (as I’m drifting off to sleep) please let the girls be happy. Please let them have had a good time. Please don’t let anyone be grumpy.

I wake up at 5:00 to the sounds of my kids in the living room with their daddy.

Mom: They are home! I hope they went easy on their Aunt and Uncle. I hope their Aunt and Uncle enjoyed it. I hope my kids didn’t scare them off. I hope they will want to do it again some time.

All of the stuff that I “said” was what was going on in my mind. I know that I have a problem about stressing over nothing. This is just a little glimpse into my world. I am VERY grateful for the adventure the girls were able to have with their Aunt and Uncle. It has made me excited to plan adventures with my kids again. We just can’t do them this summer because of my “condition”.

Please share your opinion

