8 years ago today….

our family was started in a small country church at the top of a hill. To say it was the most amazing day of my life would be a lie, I have had many amazing days in my lifetime. To say it was the most planned and thought out day of my life would be the truth. I had been planning my wedding for as long as I can remember. I had a wedding box and a wedding folder on my computer. If it was in a wedding, or about a wedding or even a new thought on weddings I knew about it. Let’s just say that I was and still am a walking knot.com. If I could have my dream job it would be to be Jennifer Lopez in “The Wedding Planner”.

On December 28, 2002 all the thoughts, all the planning, everything came together just perfect. I had a dress made by my Aunt Mary with lace put on by her hands. I had fresh flowers done by the best wedding florist I have ever seen, my mom. I was wearing the cameo earrings that belonged to my grandma, that even after the first time I saw them I told her I wanted to wear them in my wedding. She had them refinished and fixed up for me and gave them to me just before she died. They were a gift to her from my grandpa that he brought back from Italy while he was away fighting the war. I had the perfect country Catholic wedding, complete with a 4 string quartet playing songs from The Sound of Music as I walked down the aisle.

It’s funny to me what I remember about that day 8 years later. I remember being asked if I had taken meds by my maid of honor because I was so calm. I remember hearing the church bells ring to signal the start of the wedding ceremony. I have always loved the sound of church bells. I remember telling myself over and over to smile as I was walking down the aisle, to my groom who couldn’t stop laughing. I had imagined that he would be crying because he was so happy, but instead he was laughing.

I don’t remember who all was there, and I don’t remember what the readings were. I remember being on the kneeler while Father Sonnier was giving his sermon and my groom and I were thumb wrestling. I don’t know why I did it, anyone who knew me 8 years ago knows that I would never do something like that. However, in that moment with the man I was pledging my life to while holding his hand, we thumb wrestled.

My family and his had gone through a lot of loss the year we got married. So instead of the candle lighting ceremony we decided to light candles for those of our family that left us. There was a candle for my grandpa, one for my grandma and one for his grandma. I remember as Father Sonnier (the same priest who buried my grandparents) explained the reason for the candles, and said our family members names as he lit the candles, the one for my grandma burned out. I felt it was her way of telling me that she didn’t need a candle because she was there with me.

The reception went by in a hurry. We had the grand march that is tradition where I come from. We danced, we ate, we drank, what can I say…it’s what you do at a Catholic wedding.

I’m not the same person that I was 8 years ago. There’s no way I could be. I have learned to deal with stresses in a different way. I have learned a whole new way of communicating. I have learned to laugh more and cry less. I have learned that sometimes there is a bigger and better plan then the one I can come up with and I just have to let it go. I have learned what it’s like to be loved by a man with his whole heart and soul. It has been a wonderful and wide ride in these last 8 years. I am truly excited to see what forever holds for us. I love you Rex —>——

Sadly I don’t have any wedding pictures saved on my laptop so I don’t have any of those to upload.

Please share your opinion

