Fast Fact Friday

Ok Ok well I know it’s been awhile since I did one of these…but honestly it’s because I think I’m pretty boring. So it’s takes me awhile to figure out something that might be of interest and how to say it without sounding like an attention whore.

Well I have had this post in my heart for a bit and decided that it would make a good FFF…so here we go.

Being an only child, grandparents favorite and selfish; I like things. I like stuff. Let’s just call it what it is, I’m materialistic. It’s ok, I’ve dealt with it, hubster has accepted it, so we just all move on.

Given that there is stuff and then there is STUFF. We have an apple t.v., we both have MacBooks that we play games on. We get the expensive internet so our downloads go faster; but then there is a different kind of stuff.

This is the important stuff, that stuff that means something. The stuff that makes your heart happy to use, to touch, to see. My grandma was the strongest woman I have ever met in my life. Even with the problems my family had she would still work to keep every one together. She always use to tell me that if you didn’t have family you didn’t have anything. She could spend her days working with the cattle, building fences, shoveling cow pies into the garden, butchering chicken and still get cleaned up and look beautiful in the evenings. I remember always wanting to be as strong as she was.

This is the jewelry box that belonged to my grandma. I use to sit with here all the time when she got ready for weddings, church, funerals and watch her dig for earrings inside this little jewelry box. I honestly never thought it was the most beautiful thing in the world (I’m not a big fan of green), I did like the butterfly on the inside. I just remember thinking that those hands that had just wrapped barbed wire around a fence post, could open this fragile box and delicately dig for a small pair of earrings.

Now my earrings are in that jewelry box. Now I get to dig through it every morning and before I go out on dates with my husband. When I do, I remember how strong she was, and how much she loved her family. I can only hope that one day I can be half as strong as her and that my jewelry held safe inside that little box can make me even a fraction as beautiful as my grandma was to me.

So yes I’m selfish and I like stuff….but some stuff is more important then other stuff.

One thought on “Fast Fact Friday

Please share your opinion

