The Boys of Fall….

In my blog hunting I recently ran into an amazing post over here about football season and being a bandnerd. It made me think that the poster is so correct. She put my feelings about marching band into words that I could never find.

Then I was driving down the road and I happened to catch Kenny Chesney’s new song “The Boys of Fall”. I was asking myself if he walked the same halls that I walked so many years ago in high school.

If you have never experienced high school football season in the south you need to add that to your bucket list. There is no movie, no t.v show, no song that can do it justice. Hollywood does not lie..who towns shut down for those games. Everyone goes to them and your cheer those kids on like each and every one of them where your own children.

So as the days start getting hotter and school starts getting closer, football players are starting their “2 a days”, band members are making sure their toes and heels are in the correct spot, cheerleaders are painting signs.  This former bandnerd, who is married to a bandnerd starts to miss those days of sweating in the heat while holding a metal instrument, with someone yelling at you over a bullhorn.  Hanging with friends before the bus left for a game, and getting up really late just to get back up again to go to contest.

I just signed Veronica up to classes that start the process of training up a cheerleader.  I can hope for good grades for my daughter but that would be a waste of time, she’s smart. I hope for her to make the types of friends and relationships that things like band, and cheerleading bring. Those friendship that make you work, see you when you are your worst and share your pride and accomplishments. Because when I think back on it, and when I look at my facebook friends from highschool….I was in band with almost all of them.

Well it’s turnin’ to face the stars and stripes
It’s fighting back them butterflies
It’s call it in the air alright, yes sir we want the ball
And it’s knockin heads and talkin trash
It’s slinging mud and dirt and grass
It’s I got your number, I got your back
When your backs against the wall
You mess with one man you got us all
The Boys of Fall
By: Kenny Chesney

Please share your opinion

